BOOK REVIEW: The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

The Colour of Magic (Discworld, #1)The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There’s an avaricious but inept wizard, a naive tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exist if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet…(Goodreads)


My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Here’s what happens to my brain during a reading slump: it forgets words and how to string them together. So when I started to read The Colour of Magic I was wondering why it was so complicated and when it would end.

But I plodded on and eventually my brain remembered how stories are told, and I reached the top of the hill where I got a view of the Discworld. It was a great view. It was magical, hilarious, exciting, and unpredictable with two unlikely heroes (and an unforgettable Luggage) right in the middle of it.

It takes some effort to understand the Discworld, and the myriad of characters, monsters, and creatures can be confusing, but who cares. This book took me out of my reading slump and that deserves credit.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment