Book Haul: Manila International Book Fair 2016

I never liked Manila and I don’t think I ever will. The air and noise pollution, endless heavy traffic, dirty and dark streets, and the shady people always undermined the plethora of restaurants, concerts, musicals, and higher paying jobs. But there are times when a friend or family or a really, important event tips the scale in favor of the good things. Last month, it was a friend who was leaving Philippines for good. This month, it was Manila International Book Fair 2016 where all the books were at 20% off. Naturally, I went and I bought as many as I could carry under the heat and humidity of Manila.

 

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness)
Patrick Ness

After reading The Monster Calls, I resolved to read more Patrick Ness and this book is what I decided to go with. Based on the synopsis, I feel like this is going to be as imaginative and interesting as The Monster Calls so I’m most excited about this one out of everything in this list.

 
 

The Assassin’s Blade (Sarah J. Maas)
Sarah J. Maas
The Assassin’s Blade has been on my TBR since 2014, but I’ve been hesitant about reading YA book series because they’re either dystopia or have love triangles where it’s glaringly obvious who the protagonist will choose in the end. But after The Lunar Chronicles and The School for Good and Evil trilogy, I’ve been looking for a new YA series to read and I settled on The Throne of Glass. I hope I won’t be disappointed.

 

Asylum (Madeleine Roux)
Madeleine Roux
Asylum never got it to my TBR list because the cover reminded me of Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (it’s human to judge books by their cover) and my previous disappointment with the latter made me avoid Asylum like the plague. Luckily, my younger sister read Sanctum (wrong choice – she thought it was the first book in the series) and she told me that it was a nice horror book. A book with a creepy cover that is actually scary? Good enough for me.

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (Benjamin Alire Sáenz)
Benjamin Alire Sáenz
I bought this book mainly because I realized that all the books in my basket were a part of a series, but also because I thought I should try to be more spontaneous by buying a book solely based on its synopsis. Okay, so I actually did a quick search on Goodreads and found out it has a 4.34 rating. But still. It was partly spontaneous.

 

Pride & Prejudice (Jane Austen)
Jane Austen
Like I said, it’s human to judge books by their cover. Besides, how could I not buy a Pride and Prejudice copy with that  cover? Also, I haven’t read this yet and I know it’s going to be good, so I had nothing to lose.

 
 
 
 

Basic Japanese Grammar
“You’re studying Japanese only now that you’re back here?” my friend said when she saw that I’d bought this. I guess she had a point, but I have more motivation to study now so I don’t think it was a bad decision.

 

And Then There Were None (Agatha Christie)
I had to buy And Then There Were None from Book Depository because I’d been trying to find a copy since July and couldn’t so I decided that, sadly, Philippine bookstores have forgotten Agatha Christie. Imagine my shock and disbelief when I saw a copy at the book fair! Then I saw the price tag and I immediately felt smart and proud of myself. It cost 13USD at the book fair but only 7.86USD on Book Depository. Phew.

 

The Three Musketeers (Alexandre Dumas)
Alexandre Dumas
Yes. Another book in a series. But in my defense, I actually didn’t know that The Three Musketeers has a sequel until just now when I looked it up on Goodreads to get the link. But I have a good feeling I won’t read the sequel because, honestly, I bought this because it was discounted on Book Depository. Also, look at that handsome man on the cover. Honestly, book covers will be the death of my wallet.
 
 
That’s it. It’s not a lot but when I remember the four other books I bought last month I feel like I need to read quickly. How many and what books have you bought this month or year?

Leave a Reply

