BOOK REVIEW: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe)The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

If you care for journeys there and back, out of the comfortable Western world, over the edge of the Wild, and home again, and can take an interest in a humble hero (blessed with a little wisdom and a little courage and considerable good luck), here is a record of such a journey and such a traveler.(J.R.R. Tolkien)


My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was 12 when I read The Fellowship of the Ring and I remember I was very disappointed because I thought it was difficult and, peculiarly, I couldn’t appreciate the son of father of grandfather that kept popping throughout the book. I finally gave up on it when Frodo’s party reached Rivendell. Since then, I’ve had a poor impression of The Lord of the Rings novels although I loved the movie adaptations.

After I saw The Hobbit I decided to give this book a chance but, admittedly, I kept delaying because I couldn’t forget the experience I had from my first J.R.R. Tolkien book. Luckily, The Hobbit is in my 2016 Reading Challenge. Like Bilbo who was drawn out from his comfortable hobbit-hole with the promise of a great adventure, I was forced out of my comfort zone with the promise of getting something good out of one of the best-selling books ever.

This time, I wasn’t disappointed. Actually, I really liked this book. I was surprised and very pleased because The Hobbit isn’t difficult to understand and it’s even witty. Sometimes, the straightforward and conversational narration almost convinced me I was reading a children’s book not unlike Alice in Wonderland and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. But the amount of imagination and world-building, and the well constructed plot always reminded me that I was reading a book written by a genius.

The best and my personal favorite is the titular character, the hobbit. I loved that from the beginning Bilbo already had a few layers and these were developed as he experienced a world so much bigger than him. I loved how his flaws and the mistakes he made were sensible and I also liked his interaction with the other characters.

Sadly, these other characters weren’t as special. The dwarves weren’t as sympathetic as they were in the movie so I didn’t really care for them and their gold. If I did, this book would have been perfect. But even if it’s not, The Hobbit is still worth five stars. And if you like fantasy, adventure, and a whole lot of imagination, you’ll probably give it the same rating.

Have you read The Hobbit? What did you think about it?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

