BOOK REVIEW: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.(Goodreads)


My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I gave up on this book years ago because I couldn’t stand Jacob, but my sister convinced me that it isn’t that bad so I decided to pick it up again. Since I was forcing myself to read a book I could only read until Chapter 2, I decided to go with the audio book in the hope that it would change my mind.

Tadah! I was able to finish the book this time. I don’t know if it was because I listened to it or maybe I just became more patient through the years, but the story was a little more interesting than I remember, and it was easier for me to imagine what was happening and to appreciate how Ransom Riggs described the locations in the book. Jacob was also bearable this time around although I still didn’t like the poor little rich boy thing going on with him.

Sadly, the rest of the characters weren’t any better. Even if I heard their names repeatedly through my headphones, it took me until almost the end of the book to remember the names and to associate a personality to these names because they were stereotypes who were literally and figuratively stuck in the same, unchanging state. Ironically, the character who made the most sense and was the most fleshed out was invisible.

Thanks to the audio book, I was able to finish the book. But it doesn’t mean I liked it. If the characters moved beyond cliché and they a more dynamic and less creepy relationship with each other, I would have given it one more star. Still, if you like fantasy books with a tiny teeny itty bitty touch of horror you might like this one. Maybe.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

