BOOK REVIEW: Truckers by Terry Pratchett

Truckers (Bromeliad Trilogy, #1)Truckers by Terry Pratchett

Under the floorboards of the Store is a world of four-inch-tall nomes that humans never see. It is commonly known among these nomes that Arnold Bros. created the Store for them to live in, and he declared: “Everything Under One Roof.” Therefore there can be no such thing as Outside. It just makes sense.
That is, until the day a group of nomes arrives on a truck, claiming to be from Outside, talking about Day and Night and Snow and other crazy legends. And they soon uncover devastating news: The Store is about to be demolished. It’s up to Masklin, one of the Outside nomes, to devise a daring escape plan that will forever change the nomes’ vision of the world. . . .(Goodreads)


My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I like pretty things. I always did. It’s the reason why I was nicknamed Doña as a child and why, years later, I can’t help judging books by their covers. This book was no exception and it got a lot of bad judgement from me because it had not just one, but two nomes on it’s cover.

Nomes are so stocky that a Japanese Sumo wrestler would look half-starved by comparison, and the way this one moved suggested that it was considerably tougher than old boots.

Not a very good pitch. Also, it didn’t help that the only Teri Pratchett I’ve read is a collaboration with Neil Gaiman and a book of short stories that I haven’t finished yet. I didn’t think I would like the book, but I did.

This is a book about nomes, but it made me think about being human and human-ness. It made me think about leadership and the power and responsibility that comes with it. Sometimes, it also made me wonder whether people are following their beliefs blindly. It made me think, but it also made me laugh with its light tone and wit.

The important thing about being a leader is not being right or wrong but being certain. Of course it helps to be right as well, the Abbot conceeded.

Sadly, the characters, with the sole exception of Masklin, were easily forgettable because they weren’t developed and didn’t contribute much to the story. So I guess I was right: the nomes weren’t the best part of the book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

