BOOK REVIEW: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)Cress by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In Cinder magic turned a cyborg into a princess, who I couldn’t help liking. But the clock struck twelve in Scarlet and the magic turned into a disappointment, which made me lose interest in this series. Luckily, I found this charming glass slipper in Cress, and I’m glad to say that it perfectly fits my taste.

“But you’re a prisoner,” said Thorne.
“I prefer damsel in distress,” she murmured.

Cress, the newest edition to Cinder’s group of misfits and criminals, doesn’t have Cinder’s legacy and Scarlet’s confidence but she reminded me of fairy tale princesses in classic Disney movies because she’s exactly that: a damsel who dreams of nice dresses, heroes, and love at first sight. She’s whimsical and awkward but these were used to support and strengthen her character instead of turning her into a liability or an annoying stereotype.

The best part about this book is that it wasn’t just Cress. Most of the characters have become complex and dynamic that I even warmed up to Scarlet and Wolf who I remember disliking in the second book. The world-building is still in need of repairs but the story has become less predictable and more interesting as the characters push the plot forward. I can’t wait to see how it’ll all turn out in Winter.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

