Book Review: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Kite RunnerThe Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lazy days on the branches of a pomegranate tree, Westerns on movie nights, and warm blankets on Winter days – the first few chapters were peaceful and slow but had many signs of the chaos that was to come.

It may be unfair, but what happens in a few days, sometimes even in a single day, can change the course of a whole lifetime.

Even before that single day or the Soviet War in Afghanistan, I already knew what the story was for me. Although Khaled Hosseini described The Kite Runner as a ‘father-son’ book, I would have to disagree. It isn’t just about guilt and redemption either.

From the selfish, cowardly Amir to his polar opposite Hassan, The Kite Runner is about human nature – the courageous, the loyal, the sinful, the brave, the mad, the rational, the hopeful, and the hopeless. The weaknesses and strengths of the characters, although sometimes unrealistic, made them surprisingly real to me.

The plot was limited by first person narrative but Amir’s interactions with the people around him showed people of different colors from the purest white to the darkest black.

If I was going to toy with him and challenge his loyalty, then he’d toy with me, test my integrity.

Although the plot was easy understand, it was sometimes too contrived and very predictable. However, I found comfort in that because it reminded me that The Kite Runner is fiction, and although human nature can be grim, at least the darkness and sadness in this book are unreal.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

