Japan

In a few minutes, it will be exactly one week since I stepped into my apartment in Nagaokakyo City, Kyoto. My room is still a mess and my fridge is still close to empty, but I have a dish rack now and some other pieces of furniture that make this place a home.

I don’t know how I’m feeling. I’m nervous that if I really think about it, I just might jump up and down and dance around in happiness.

Some people might not think too much about this but being in Japan is a big deal for me – the roads that intersect train tracks, cherry blossoms, bicycles, chopsticks, and itadakimasus. Living here now is literally a dream come true.

But although the udons, ichigo dai fukus, and mangas easily make me happy like a child on Christmas, I know now that the best thing in Japan can’t be bought in any shop.

It’s the people here that make me feel so comfortable even when this is my first time out of the Philippines. It’s the kind, polite, and quiet people who make it so easy even when I don’t understand a word they say and they don’t speak English.

I don’t know how I’m feeling, but I know I’m lucky and blessed, and I’m going to make the best of every day and of everything.

Nagaokakyo, Japan Week 1
That moment when something you’ve always dreamt of actually happens. So you take it in with deep breaths and keep dreaming. After all, what else is life about but creating realities?
Leave a Reply

