Book Review: Academ’s Fury (Codex Alera, Book 2)

Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, #2)Academ’s Fury by Jim Butcher

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Halfway into Chapter 2, I already had an idea on how to start my review and it was supposed to go something like, “My. Jim Butcher has added some witty dialogues and spunky characters to spice up his Codex Alera series.

But right now, I can’t even.

Not after THAT ending.

He will never be anything more than what he is. I must bear up a little longer. For a change in the boy.

Not that I didn’t know this would happen nor don’t I have any idea of what’s next to come, BUT that doesn’t make it less exciting. If Furies of Calderon was interesting, Academ’s Fury has the right mixture of humor, blood, adventure, treachery, and romance, while going through a fast pace that left me no time to adjust while I moved from one POV to another. Who needs surprises and twists with a plot like that, eh?

I have decided that I do not like it when you hurt.

Next to the plot, one thing that made Academ’s Fury stand out from the first book is its new well-drawn characters. They added wit and heart and sacrifice where there were protagonists, and desperation, deceit, and wickedness where there were antagonists. Even the characters from the first book developed into something so real that I can’t help but pick favorites.

Right now, I’m all for Max, Amara, and Tavi but I can’t wait to read MORE about Alerans, Marats, Canes, and, yes, even evil High Lords and Ladies.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

