Book Review: Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera, Book 1)

Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera, #1)Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Very unlike me, I read Furies of Calderon without reading its summary. Luckily, inside I found a nice surprise. It wasn’t as child-friendly as I thought it would be but the book’s plot and fantastical elements made it a good read.

Jim Butcher was detailed and descriptive in his writing but the story was still easy to follow. His characters, although doubtful because of their excessive virtues at times, were mostly satisfactory. It was the plot, however, that kept me turning the pages.

Although there weren’t any BOOMS, BANGS, or KABLAMS that made me scream out or go on a cursing rampage, every chapter and every POV of every character was interesting (I mean, I’m a big ASoIaF fan but even I gotta admit that some chapters were too anticlimactic or boring to tempt me to skip a chapter).

The book also avoided one pitfall that some fantasy books drop into: lengthy dialogues wherein a character TRIES to explain the world and magic the author has created. Jim Butcher steered away from this and relied on his characters’ experiences to explain furies, herd-banes, and, yes, even lighting a lamp without a match.

By doing this, he made me excited for the sequel despite the book’s lack of KABLAMS or Nobody Owenses.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

