Book Review: Howl’s Moving Castle

Howl's Moving Castle (Howl's Moving Castle, #1)Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Diana Wynne Jones created some beautiful magic and characters in Howl’s Moving Castle (view spoiler) but the spells and curses were not the only things that made this book magical.

I remember how, after I watched the book’s movie adaptation, I was amazed by the amount of imagination that went into it – a castle with legs, a talking shooting star, a door that opens to four different places, and a grandmother for a protagonist.

Don’t worry old thing. You look quite healthy. Besides, this is much more like you really are.

Then I read the book and discovered more surreal events and unlikely characters.

Lovelyย โค

Howl’s Moving Castle has most of the things that fall under my great books category: believable characters, good character development, interesting plot, a well-woven story, some surprises here and there, and a nice lesson to part with if you know where to look.

But did you honestly think I don’t know my own business well enough not to spot a strong spell like that when I see it? I came to the conclusion that you liked being in disguise. It must be, since you’re doing it yourself.

Although I think the ending and the romance between Howl and Sophie were a little rushed, I know this book would have been a cantletitgountilthemorning if I didn’t fall in love with the movie first.

I think we ought to live happily ever after.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Howl’s Moving Castle

      • Yay! I hope you like them! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’ve seen Hayao Miyazaki’s Arrietty, you might want to check out The Borrowers by Mary Norton. I haven’t read it yet but the film was good so the book might be as well ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

