Book Review: The Apothecary

The ApothecaryThe Apothecary by Maile Meloy

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One word: brilliant.

How else could I describe Maile Meloy’s genius in combining science and magic together that they seemed perfectly fit like toast and butter? Never had I imagined that atoms and chemistry could be bases for magic, and an atomic war the onus of young heroes.Maile Meloy is a wonderful writer – she made everything so natural and real that I’m pretty sure I can make Smell of Truth if I can only find Artemisia veritas in this world.

For her first young adult book, this sure is a hit. A bull’s eye: how the romance between the two heroes developed (with NO THIRD PARTY, thank gods), how the adults weren’t clueless and useless extras while the teenagers’ worlds fell apart, and how the heroes joked about what real people joke about and how they learned over time.

Sure, there were some predictable scenes that should have gone better; sudden, hurried events that didn’t seem important; and some concepts in need of more explanation.

But overall this book was beyond my expectations and made me run to Google in search of a possible sequel. And yes, there is. What a happy weekend this is going to be.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

