My One Great Step in Manila

One Great Step Manila

When they finally appeared on stage chained on their wrists inside a made-up prison cell, I screamed with all the others. November 3 had finally arrived. Before that day, I thought it would feel like a dream; like I would feel like I was floating because of pure happiness. But except for those frequent moments when I had to adjust myself to a certain angle so as to not get overwhelmed by the crazy fan girls behind me, my feet were firmly planted on the ground.

The first ever concert I attended by the first KPop artists I ever liked, was surprisingly underwhelming. As I thought about it while I was making my way home after the concert, however, I realized it was underwhelming in a good way.

First off, let me get it out there that I’m not a big KPop fan nor do I have the “Korean-ism fever” that many Filipinos seem to be afflicted with. In fact, I would probably surprise a lot of my friends when they find out I went to a concert by Korean idols. In the sea of KPop/INFINTE/idol fans, I was probably the only one who didn’t know the lyrics to any of their songs. Hell, I don’t even know the title of all their songs.

I’m a big fan of theirs – I have all their songs, I’ve seen almost all their variety shows, and I bought a standing VIP ticket, dammit. But during the concert, standing only two meters away from them, I realized how they really were just like everyone else.

As they gave all their energy into their singing and dancing; their sweat dripping heavily and their breath getting ragged, I saw idols but I also saw seven guys living out their dreams and giving a performance that their supporters could appreciate. I saw hard-working people who inspired me to work hard for my dream as well.

Before that night, I was a fan because they were charmingly adorable and they danced like hell. Since that night, I have continued supporting them for the same reasons but now I look up to them as inspirations as well. Although it didn’t get my heart beating like a hundred drums, it was good to know that these people who thousands of people knew and won awards were human beings just like me ^^.

Watching this concert, my first ever, was one great step for me and it was a step I was happy to take and experience 🙂

Fighting!

One Great Step in Manila

Leave a Reply

